How much does a YouTube editor retainer cost per month in 2026?
Direct answer: A monthly YouTube editing retainer costs your per-video price times the videos you publish, sometimes minus a small volume discount. Published 2026 plans run from $295 a month for four videos (Editvideo.io) and $495 for four (Vidchops) to $2,095–$2,495 a month for one video a week (Dava Studios).
Published monthly plans, October 2026
Prices from each service's pricing page, read on October 13, 2026. "Per video" is my division of the monthly price by the videos included. Upwork blocks automated reading, so its figures come from Internet Archive copies: cost page, October 3, 2026 and YouTube editors page, May 24, 2026.
| Service and plan | Monthly price | What it includes | Per video (derived) | Finished-length limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Editvideo.io Grow / Scale / Pro | $295 / $495 / $995 | 4 / 10 / 22 videos; unlimited revisions; 48 h | $73.75 / $49.50 / $45.23 | None on the finished video; raw footage up to 45 min |
| Vidchops Weekly / Pro | $495 / $995 | 4 / 8 long-form videos; 3 revisions per video (Weekly), unlimited (Pro); 1 to 2 days | $123.75 / $124.38 | 15 or 20 min (its FAQ gives both) |
| Dava Studios | $2,095 (12-month plan) / from $2,495 (month to month) | One video a week; unlimited revisions; 48 to 72 h | About $483 / $576 | Not stated |
| Video Husky Eskimo / Siberian / St. Bernard | $849 / $1,590 / $2,749 | 10 / 20 / 40 editor hours a week | Not sold per video | 20 min (another line on the page says 10) / 30 min / unlimited |
| Vidpros Part time / Full time | $1,000 / $4,000 | 2 hours per workday / 8 hours a day | Not sold per video | Not stated |
| Video Editing Company Growth / Core / Scale | $5,000 / $9,500 / $16,000 | 2 / 4 / 8 long-form videos of 5 to 15 min, plus Shorts, scripts and thumbnails | Not separable | 15 min |
| Increditors YouTube package | From $5,000 | Editors, project manager, strategy, thumbnails, scripts | Videos not stated | Not stated |
| Upwork guide, ongoing retainer | $1,200–$4,800+ | 4 to 10 videos a month | Depends on the count | Not stated |
The cheapest plans per video are the biggest: Editvideo.io drops from $73.75 at 4 videos to $45.23 at 22. Plans that sell editor hours suit channels whose videos vary a lot in length; Video Husky's top tier has no length limit at all.
How many videos a month do growing channels publish?
Most plans start at four videos a month. The channels I edit for publish more than that. Measured on every long-form video of each channel tracked on YT Jobs, read through the YouTube Data API on October 13, 2026:
| Channel | Subscribers | Long-form videos (period) | Per week | Per month | Median length |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ashlele | 500K | 322 (Apr 2025 – Sep 2026) | 4.2 | about 18 | 9.6 min |
| Mud | 1.26M | 258 (Mar 2025 – Oct 2026) | 3.1 | about 14 | 10.9 min |
| Puff | 1.83M | 160 (Jul 2025 – Oct 2026) | 2.5 | about 11 | 39.4 min |
| Rex | 2.29M | 126 (Jul 2025 – Oct 2026) | 2.1 | about 9 | 15.8 min |
Mud, for example, published 258 long-form videos between March 5, 2025 and October 2, 2026, about 3 a week. At 2 to 4 videos a week a channel needs 9 to 18 edits a month: more than the 4- and 8-video plans most services lead with. Length matters too: Puff's median video runs 39 minutes, past every 20-minute limit in the table above. Count your own last three months before you choose a plan size.
Retainer or per video: which is cheaper?
A monthly plan is only cheaper per video when the published price drops with volume: Editvideo.io from $73.75 to $45.23, Tasty Edits from $327 to $278 when you buy 8. Vidchops' two plans cost almost the same per video ($123.75 and $124.38). What a retainer reliably buys is a reserved slot and the same editor every time.
- Irregular uploads, or still testing editors: pay per video, or buy credits that stay valid (Video Husky's last 6 months).
- A fixed schedule: compare the plan's per-video price with the single-video price, and check the length limit against the lengths you really publish.
- Before signing: ask about a minimum term. Dava Studios prices its 12-month plan below month to month.
Marketplace fees on top: Fiverr adds 5.5% plus $3.50 on orders under $200 (Fiverr help); Upwork charges clients up to 7.99% (Upwork support). Both fee pages read on October 13, 2026.
What to put in writing
- Videos per month, and what happens if you send more or fewer.
- Maximum finished length and raw footage per video.
- Turnaround from receiving the files to the first cut.
- Revision rounds, and how fast each one comes back.
- Pause: whether you can skip a month, and how much notice it needs.
- Exit: how either side ends the plan, and any minimum term.
- Price changes: how much notice before a new rate.
- Extras: thumbnails, Shorts or uploads, and their price.
A retainer email you can adapt
Subject: Monthly editing, [Channel name]
Hi [Editor name], I'd like to move to a monthly arrangement from [date]:
- Scope: [number] long-form videos a month, up to [minutes] finished minutes each, [hours] of raw footage at most.
- Price: $[amount] a month, paid [at the start of each month / per video on delivery].
- Turnaround: first cut within [days] of receiving the files.
- Revisions: [number] rounds per video, each back within [hours].
- Pause and exit: either of us can pause or end the plan with [days] notice.
- Price changes: [days] notice before any new rate.
If this works for you, I'll confirm the first month on [date].
Red flags in a monthly plan
- No way to end the plan, or a fee to leave.
- A rate that can change at any time without notice.
- "Up to N videos" with nothing about what happens if you send more.
- No turnaround in writing.
- A length limit you only find in the FAQ (Vidchops' FAQ gives two different ones).
How I price a month of editing
Monthly work with me is priced per video, by finished length, with no contract and no minimum: a month costs what you publish. Four videos of up to 20 minutes come to $600; eight, to $1,200.
| Finished length | My price per video | Per finished minute at the limit | Per minute at the median length of my client videos in that band | Editing cost per 1,000 views (median) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 10 finished minutes | $55 | $5.50 | $6.29 | $0.98 (287 videos) |
| Up to 20 finished minutes | $150 | $7.50 | $11.92 | $2.09 (513 videos) |
| Up to 35 finished minutes | $300 | $8.57 | $11.42 | $6.69 (83 videos) |
| Longer than 35 minutes | Quoted per video | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Quick answers
How much is a monthly retainer for a YouTube editor?
Published 2026 monthly plans run from $295 for four videos (Editvideo.io) and $495 for four (Vidchops) to $2,095–$2,495 for one video a week (Dava Studios), prices read October 13, 2026. With me a month is my per-video price times your uploads: $55–$150 per finished video depending on complexity; up to $300 for some long or complex edits.
How much do YouTubers pay their editors per month?
Published plans run from $295 a month for four videos (Editvideo.io) to $2,095–$2,495 a month for one video a week (Dava Studios); Upwork's guide puts an ongoing retainer at $1,200–$4,800+ for 4 to 10 videos. The real number is your per-video price times the videos you publish.
Is a retainer cheaper than paying per video?
Only where the published price drops with volume: Editvideo.io goes from $73.75 to $45.23 a video, Tasty Edits from $327 to $278 when you buy 8. Vidchops' two plans cost almost the same per video ($123.75 and $124.38). What a retainer reliably buys is a reserved slot.
How many videos should a monthly plan include?
As many as you really publish. One video a week is about 4.3 a month; three a week is about 13. Mud, a Roblox Rivals news channel I edit for, published 258 long-form videos in about 19 months, about 3 a week.
Can I pause a monthly editing plan?
Only if the agreement says so. Credit packs are the flexible option: Video Husky's credits stay valid for 6 months. With a monthly plan, put the pause rule and the notice it needs in writing before the first payment.
What does a retainer cost for long videos?
Check the length limit first: Vidchops' FAQ gives 15 and 20 minutes, Video Husky's Eskimo plan 20 (another line says 10), Siberian 30 and St. Bernard unlimited. For videos of 35 minutes or more, look at plans without a limit or at per-video pricing.
How much is a month of editing with Kevin Tabares?
There is no fixed plan size: each video is priced by finished length, $55 up to 10 minutes, $150 up to 20 and $300 up to 35, with no contract or minimum. Four videos a month come to $220 to $600 (more for long or complex videos).